Comparison

Katakana Rocks! and the other apps for learning Japanese

These apps don’t all do the same job. This table sets out, feature by feature, what each one offers for learning Japanese, based on the publishers’ public information (sources at the bottom of the page). Checked on 11 September 2026.

Feature by feature

yes partly, or only with the paid option no Not stated : no public information from the publisher

Feature Katakana Rocks! Duolingo Rosetta Stone HelloTalk Praktika MARU
No subscription Yes. One-time purchase Partly. Free, subscription optional (Super, Max)D1 No. Monthly or annual subscriptionR2 Partly. Free, VIP subscription optionalH1 Partly. Limited free versionP1 Yes. Free, Pro version as a one-time purchaseM1
No ads Yes. Partly. Ads in the free versionD1 Yes. R1 Partly. Ads in the free versionH1H2 Yes. No “Contains ads” label on Google PlayP2 Partly. One ad after 5 mistakes, removed by ProM1
No account needed Yes. You can start without oneT No. Account requiredR2 No. Profile required (social network)H2 No. Free account requiredP2 Yes. T
Hiragana and katakana, one by one Yes. Yes. “Characters” tabD2 No. In the course, without dedicated lessonsR3 Not stated Not stated Yes. M1
Introduction to kanji Yes. 244 everyday words Yes. D2D3 Yes. 300 to 400 kanji in the courseR3 Not stated Not stated No. Kana onlyM1
Writing, stroke order No. Yes. Tracing exercisesD2 No. No stroke orderR3 Not stated Not stated Yes. M1
Speaking practice (microphone) No. Yes. D1 Yes. TruAccent speech recognitionR1R2 Yes. Voice messages and calls with native speakersH1 Yes. P1 No. Listening onlyM1
Conversation with an AIneither an advantage nor a drawback No Yes, Video Call (Max subscription)D4 Yes, Chat MissionsR2 Yes, in separate apps (Talksy), free or included in VIPH3 Yes, it is the core of the appP1 NoM1
Works offline (airplane mode) Yes. Partly. With the Super subscriptionD1 Not stated No. Online social networkH2 Not stated Partly. With ProM1
Grammar through sentences No. Yes. D1 Yes. Immersion in sentences, without explanationsR3 Not stated Yes. In conversationP1 No. M1
A video gamestory, levels, mini-games Yes. Story, 36 levels, 5 game modes Partly. Mini-games along the lessons, which remain the core of the appT No. Language courseR2 No. Social networkH2 No. AI tutorP1 No. Short exercisesM1

Each app, in one sentence

Sources

Consulted on 11 September 2026.

  1. D1 Duolingo — App Store listing
  2. D2 Duolingo — Blog: learning to read Japanese characters
  3. D3 Duolingo — Duolingo Wiki, Japanese course
  4. D4 Duolingo — Blog: Duolingo Max
  5. R1 Rosetta Stone — App Store listing (Rosetta Stone Classic)
  6. R2 Rosetta Stone — App Store listing (Rosetta Stone Sapphire), getting started guide
  7. R3 Rosetta Stone — Japademy review of the Japanese course (2026)
  8. H1 HelloTalk — App Store listing
  9. H2 HelloTalk — Blog: is HelloTalk free?, Tofugu review (“a social network built around language exchange”)
  10. H3 HelloTalk — HelloTalk AI apps, Talksy
  11. P1 Praktika — App Store listing, website
  12. P2 Praktika — Google Play listing
  13. M1 MARU — App Store listing
  14. T Tested by us in the app on 11 September 2026

Comparison made on 11 September 2026 by the publisher of Katakana Rocks!, from each publisher’s public information cited above. Offers change: if a cell is no longer accurate, let us know and we will correct it. Duolingo, Rosetta Stone, HelloTalk, Praktika, MARU are trademarks of their respective owners; Katakana Rocks! is not affiliated with any of them.

Try Katakana Rocks! for free

The first 5 levels play right in your browser, with no account and nothing to install.

▶ Play the free demo

Full game: one purchase, no subscription.

Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play